CALNation Shines at the 78th UAAP Swimming Championships


12191313_10153636510580540_74100831845479542_oLast October 22-25, our CAL Swim School tankers have delivered A+ performances and not only brought points for their respective schools, but promoted the highest level of sportsmanship amongst each other despite representing different alma maters at the 78th UAAP Swimming Championships in Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Out of 86 events, CAL swimmers won gold in 50 of those events with 34 new UAAP records. 14 of those gold medals were from our back-to-back MVP’s in the Seniors division, Jessie Lacuna and Hannah Dato.

CAL’s big brother, Axel Ngui, produced 5 gold medals and a new Philippine record in the 50m Backstroke along with 5 UAAP records in all the individual events he competed in.

Following Axel’s footsteps is the current Junior Boys Rookie of the Year, Rafael Baretto, with 4 new Junior National records and an impressive broken 50 Free UAAP record that was held by Olympian, Ryan Papa, for 22 years.

The veterans weren’t the only showstoppers in this year’s UAAP, the first timers wreaked havoc in the pool with another Rookie of the Year award by Raegan Gavino in the Women’s Senior Division along with record breaking swims by Carlo Silva (Senior Division) in all the breaststroke events and Phillip Joaquin Santos (Junior Division) in the 400 IM.

Another historic event this season was the shattering of the longest standing record in UAAP Swimming by Aldo Batungbacal in 1500 Freestyle. He broke Olympian Bob Palacio’s time by going under 17 minutes to break the 26 year old record.

This season also serves as the last collegiate meet of CAL seniors, Kimberly Uy and Basille Uy who ended their college meet on a high note with 5 gold medals combined.

The medal winning and record breaking stint continues with CAL seasoned individual and relay swimmers which include: Getty Reyes, Moniq Reyes, Paolo Mutuc, Gio Palencia, Ariana Herranz, Mona Datu, Julia Balanag, Shayn Ting, Ariana Canaya, Enzo Abanilla, Kayla Taguibao, Nadine Tee Ten, Angelic Saavedra, Aki Cariño, Sebastian Francisco, Johan Sison, Dave Fua, Joseph Go, Louise Saavedra, Imee Saavedra, Miggy Arellano and David Raphael Dy.

With all the medals and points that these individuals have put forth, the most notable aspect of their success is that CAL’s student-athletes have found the right balance between swimming and studies.  CAL ensures that the student-athletes’ development are holistic and well rounded. Though the process is never easy, they continue to build character and learn values that cannot be taught by anyone but experience.

Congratulations to all for a job well done! #CALNation

By Marichi Gandionco, CAL Head Coach – Xavier Aqua Stallions

View Results Here (pdf):

2015 UAAP Swimming Championships – Results (Prelims & Finals)

2015 UAAP Swimming Championships – Record Breakers

2015 UAAP Swimming Championships – Meet Records

2015 UAAP Swimming Championships – Team Rankings



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: