A Look at UAAP Swimming Championship Season 81 from CAL’s Perspective

We are now able to break down what occurred at one of the most anticipated local meets of the year which was joined by majority of our school’s swimmers. Season 81 of the UAAP Swimming Championship has been concluded with another all-time high by CAL Swim School. With over 50 swimmers representing their respective schools, CAL swimmers almost performed a near sweep of podium finishes for the Senior Division and numerous records broken from the Junior division.

Jessie Khing Lacuna’s historical UAAP career has been highlighted with 35 gold medals out of 35 events. A great feat and all his success has been well deserved and will be highlighted as one of the UAAP greats. He also ended with two new records in the 100m and 200m Butterfly and the MVP award for the Senior Men’s Division for the fourth time in 5 years.

Following Jessie’s footsteps with his guidance are fellow MVP awardees Kirsten Chloe Daos for the Senior Women’s Division, Philip Joaquin Santos and Camille Lauren Buico for the Boys & Girls Juniors Division. The three younger MVP’s have broken records as well, starting with:

  • Kirsten Chloe Daos in the 800m Freestyle with a time of 9:24.51. Chloe this year has performed a sweep of 7 golds out of 7 events, one of her most impressive performances to date.
  • Phillip Joaquin Santos was also 7 for 7 wins this meet. He broke the Junior Boys 1500m record with a time of 16:48.87 as well as the 200m Backstroke with a time of 2:07.50 which is only a few seconds away from the current Philippine Record.
  • Camille Lauren Buico broke the Junior Girls Division record in the 100m Butterfly with a time of 1:03.91, and is also the first female swimmer from the Juniors Division to go under a minute in the 100m Freestyle in the history of this competition with a time of 59.77.

Another CAL individual awardee is Dara Nichelle Carreon, who won the Rookie of the Year Award in the Senior Women’s Division with an exciting 50m Breastroke gold medal performance as well as a third place finish 100m Breaststroke.


Our CAL swimmers once again dominated this competition with 38 first place finishes out of 65 individual events. One of the notable performances this meet is by Rian Marco Tirol, who went 3 for three not just in gold medals but in records as well in all three Breaststroke events. He has two other gold medals to add to that. Seasoned CAL swimmers below have defended their titles at least two years in a row in their respective events:

  • Alberto Batungbacal in the 1500m Freestyle, 100m & 200m Breaststroke
  • Akiva Jose Carino in the 200m Backstroke
  • Courtney Melissa Gray in the 100m & 200m Backstroke
  • Andrea Ann Tiffany Ngui in the 50m Freestyle and;
  • Nadine Tee Ten in the 200m Individual Medley


With the CAL swimmers being spread out in difference universities, it is not every day you see all CAL swimmers in one relay team and win for their alma maters. This year it happened with two relay events:

  • Senior Women’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay which include Kayla Taguibao, Bianca Reyes, Pricila Loren Aquino and Nadine Tee Ten)
  • Senior Men’s 4×100 Medley Relay (Akiva Jose Cariño, Giancarlo Silva, Gerard Cristoffe Reyes and Jethro Roberts Chua)

Our CAL Swim School senior swimmers continue to dominate the medal podium with top three finishes in events such as:

  • Senior Men’s 800m Freestyle (Jessie Khing Lacuna, Alberto Batungbacal & Ianiko Limfilipino)
  • Senior Women’s 200m IM (Winona Nadine Tee Ten, Courtney Melissa Gray and Romina Rafaelle Gavino)
  • Senior Women’s 400m Freestyle (Kirsten Chloe Daos, Winona Nadine Tee Ten & Romina Rafaelle Gavino)
  • Senior Women’s 200m Backstroke (Courtney Melissa Gray, Winona Nadine Tee Ten & Angela Villamil)
  • Senior Women’s 200m Freestyle (Kirsten Chloe Daos, Andrea Ann Tiffany Ngui & Winona Nadine Tee Ten)
  • Senior Women’s 50m Butterfly (Kirsten Chloe Daos, Andrea Ann Tiffany Ngui & Ariana Canaya)
  • Senior Women’s 400 IM (Romina Rafaelle Gavino, Winona Nadine Tee Ten & Pricila Loren Aquino)

We are looking forward to our younger CAL hopefuls to make their mark in this competition and represent their schools. We here in CAL strongly believe in our student-athletes knowing that they can excel in both studies and sports. Congratulations to all our swimmers who have worked hard this season and brought pride and joy to their respective alma maters! CAL Swim School is honored to have you with us and will continue to guide you in your athletic journey.

List of CAL UAAP Swimmers:

Ayala Harpoons Celebrity Rapids Rising Atlantis
Miguel Arellano Antonio Aquini IV Lorenzo Abanilla
Sarah Alvina Pricila Aquino Carlos Juaquin Arenas
Jacob Balanag Vincent Dy Camille Lauren Buico
Julia Balanag Raphael Dy Dara Nichelle Carreon
Denzel Ballestar Carlitos Diaz Hans Chua
Alberto Batungbacal Miguel Diaz Patrick Galvez
Leandrei Buhain Dana Sedurante Courtney Melissay Gray
Akiva Jose Carino Joshua Sedurante Dexter John Lacuna
Jethro Roberts Chua Russell Ting Grayiel Guerrero
Gabriel De La Rosa Mikey Pile Gabriel Guerrero
Portia Doragos Joshua Vitangcol Andrea Ann Tiffany Ngui
Nicole Eijansantos Maria Consuelo Neri Yvoria Rosales
Marga Estacio Jiwh Noel Santos
Jesreel Francisco QCSC Buccaneers Kayla Taguibao
Romina Rafaelle Gavino Francheska Baccay Winona Nadine Tee Ten
Karl Gue Miguel Barlisan Angele Villamil
Ethan Inocencio Kirsten Chloe Daos Jamleth Marie Villanueva
Rafael Isip Caitlin Estepar
Jessie Khing Lacuna Ianiko Limfilipino VSC Sailfish
Jewelle Macatangay Ariana Canaya
Marjorie Manguiat
Matthew Manguiat
Gerard Christoffe Reyes
Angelic Saavedra
Kristine Abigayle Santos
Phillip Joaquin Santos
Giancarlo  Silva
Joshua Taleon
Rian Marco Tirol


Written by: Marichi Gandionco

Photos by: Dan De Guzman, John Oranga, and Zach Garcia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: